Charlotte or Carrie?

Standard

As I continued my journey today I found myself stuck thinking of movies in Calculus class. The typical family dinner in my home consists of us playing the movie game–actor, movie they are in, another actor in that movie, movie they are in, etc. and of course every time we play that stupid game I lose. As my teacher spoke of derivatives and cusps I could not help but think of the end of Toula’s opening dialogue in My Big Fat Greek Wedding, “It’s useless to dream because nothing ever changes.”

The movie is set in Chicago, a city considered in America’s big 10 yet lacking the industry like Los Angeles with Samantha or New York City with Carrie. Is it the city that defines a situation or is insecurity and boy trouble universal?

Many would reply that the answer is easy: all girls face the same problems.  But Sex in the City, however much one might consider it fantasy, shows that this statement cannot be entirely true. All four women have overlapping lives yet face entirely different struggles throughout the seasons. Maybe the women are an illusion. Maybe really the girls are actually one person with different thoughts and a multidimensional conscience.

Who am I? Jean Valjean would said 24601 but maybe I am a mixture of all four. The pressure to conform to one standard of women is evident but should we all become a large copy. It is time for diversity to be the majority and insecurity of place the minority. We can’t all live in the same city.

Leave a comment